Starter wires - YotaTech Forums



86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Starter wires

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2018, 09:10 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
flanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Houston Tx.
Posts: 34
Starter wires

How many wires go to the starter on the 3vze.

I thought just 2 right ?
flanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 10:31 PM   #2
Registered User
 
RAD4Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,730
THICK cable from battery positive to screw terminal of starter solenoid to supply high starter motor current.
Small wire (most likely on spade terminal) to starter solenoid - to energize the coil.
Yes, two directly^^^, but don't forget the THICK wire from battery negative to somewhere on the block. That's how the starter gets it's ground through clean and tight starter mounting metal.
RAD4Runner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 01:01 AM   #3
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
wyoming9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: I live in New Tripoli Pa out in the woods
Posts: 12,511
Red face

In most cases one wire to the starter solenoid and the battery cable to the starter.

At times I have run a ground direct to the lower starter bolt . Cures so many cranking problems .

Then with these Toyota`s no telling what one will find.

In one case someone had connected extra circuits to the starter cable go figure
wyoming9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:03 AM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
flanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Houston Tx.
Posts: 34
Thanks Guys was just reading a thread here on Intermittent NO start, that I think RAD4runner made several informative post in. I got the same problem. 91 5 spd. 3.0. Every so often It does the click thing. Except mine is just the relay clicking only. Also hear a kind of high pitch squeal. But very faint sounds like resistance to me ? No solenoid click that I can hear. Think I'm going to put a relay on the passenger side also, close to the starter to bump it. (Hot shot relay). My factory relay is also like user JPL, inside the car by the fuse block drivers side. Why the engineers decided to put it there is beyond me. New starter, New Battery, Optima red 1000 CCA. seems to help for a while but like so many others here, only for a while. It's very intermittent. But its seems to get me when I'm most vulnerable, like stuck on the boat ramp. Quite annoying.
flanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 03:52 PM   #5
Registered User
 
RAD4Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanza View Post
... 91 5 spd. 3.0. ... just the relay clicking only. ....
Exactly which relay is clicking?You mean the starter relay? YOU need to be very exact when you describe problem/symptoms because we are not in front of your engine compartment or in the cabin. Also best to have your model-year-engine-transmission-trim.

Starter relay only clicking OR starter solenoid clicking but ONLY FAINTLY is symptom of wrong wiring of starter relay. IF this were your case, to rewire is a lot of wiring work and still leaves long path for power to get to the starter solenoid*. So, yes, just wiring up a Hot Shot relay or making one yourself is better.
This is how to verify if starter relay is wired wrong (in JPL's thread).

HOW TO FIX IS ALL HERE.

*In those days, Toyota mechanical engineers were MUCH better than its electrical engineers.

Last edited by RAD4Runner; 02-13-2018 at 03:54 PM.
RAD4Runner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 09:41 PM   #6
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
flanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Houston Tx.
Posts: 34
Yes RAD4runner, it is the starter relay that's clicking. I can put my hand on it and feel it when I try to start it. The green one on the drivers side by fuse box. I saw the pic of the relay you set up in the link you sent. The one I'm going to put in is pre-made. I got it from Painless Automotive out of Dallas. The only difference is mine doesn't have the inline fuse. Thinking about adding it ? You may also be right about the faint solenoid clicking too, but I need someone over by the starter to help confirm that.

Thanks for all the help.
flanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:02 PM   #7
Registered User
 
RAD4Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,730
Yes, I've heard of the Hotshot. That's good for your situation. Just need to get spade connectors and ring terminals for it to work with Toyota wiring.
Should work well
Good luck.
RAD4Runner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 08:36 AM   #8
Registered User
iTrader: (-1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3,203
All permanent electrical circuits should have some form of circuit protection.

Also keep in mind the ST1 signal of the ignition switch is routed to more than just the starter, your cold start system will not function as intended.
Co_94_PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 09:11 AM   #9
Registered User
 
RAD4Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanza View Post
...mine doesn't have the inline fuse...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Co_94_PU View Post
All permanent electrical circuits should have some form of circuit protection.
Also keep in mind the ST1 signal of the ignition switch is routed to more than just the starter, your cold start system will not function as intended.
Yes,
Depending on which KIT, Hotshot may come with its own circuit breaker. (http://www.painlessperformance.com/w...=hot+shot&sb=+)
O.P.should not have to change anything with the starter relay in order to add the Hotshot.

Flanza,
To add Hotshot, you:
1) Wire Hotshot to battery/CB,
2) Unplug starter solenoid coil control wire (below) and use that to control coil of Hotshot relay.
STARTER SOLENOID COIL CONTROL WIRE FROM STOCK STARTER RELAY
3) Crimp female spade terminal to load output of Hotshot relay, and plug that into the coil control input of the starter solenoid.

HOTSHOT RELAY LOAD OUTPUT TO SOLENOID COIL CONTROL
NOTE: Hotshot instructions may tell you to take battery power from the thick battery positive cable screwed into starter solenoid. However, you can also take it directly from at battery positive. Your choice.
RAD4Runner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 03:54 PM   #10
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
flanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Houston Tx.
Posts: 34
Great info and pics thanks guys . . I know this has been said before by others but let me repeat it. If it weren't for this site/forum I probable would not still have my truck.


Thanks all.
flanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 03:59 PM   #11
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
wyoming9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: I live in New Tripoli Pa out in the woods
Posts: 12,511
So many use the local fire company instead of circuit protection it seems
wyoming9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3.4 Swap 101 dntsdad 3.4 Swaps 51 12-24-2017 11:11 AM
22RE No Start Condition. Tuleymatic 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 0 04-02-2017 03:07 PM
$50 bounty for this pin-out (96 t100 5vz into 91 pickup 3vz) Jofreidr 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 11 11-18-2016 05:11 AM
Help! Need info on replacing a starter... Toyota Punk Maintenance & Repair Archives 5 07-01-2002 06:44 PM
Help, broke my battery Corey 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 8 06-10-2002 05:23 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:39 AM.


2017 InternetBrands, Inc. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: