Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

valve work or a bad country song??

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2003, 02:10 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
valve work or a bad country song??

Well.. my 4-Runner is getting ready for the heads to be redone again.. Yes, again! I have been fighting this for 2 years come this Feb.. Yep, the first set was done in Feb 2002 at 120k.. I now have 150k and 2 years later it still runs like crap.. I have had 2 set of heads built and the last set has been back for adjustment 3 times.. Now let's all pick brains a bit.. I have a theory, can a valve "bend" or warp downward from having too much cut off when a valve grind is done?? Now I am not talking about a head that has been done too many times. But maybe the valve has so little stock, you can not safely grind them?? I just did a compression test and once again I have 30psi on #6 (155+ on all others) Now this is the same cylinder that the guy has been re-shimming... He will put a thinner shim in, and about 3k later it is too loose.. Now there is no adjustment on these valves that can change, it is all solid. I have basically had 2 sets of heads do this built by 2 companies.. I am going to ask him to install new valves (maybe just exhaust, that is the one that has been acting up..) BTW, this was a very dead cold compression test with about a 50% battery.. Anyone want to guess how sick of this I am??
:cry:
Old 12-08-2003, 03:31 PM
Contributing Member

Lee,

How about swapping in a 3.4L and just ditch that engine altogether?
Old 12-08-2003, 05:49 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Skip the 3.4. The intake is on the other side from your snorkel...Of course, you could be the first on your block...and maybe the world...to have dual snorks.

It might be cheaper and easier for your mechanic to go in with you on a factory 3.0 long-block.
Old 12-08-2003, 05:53 PM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Ditch it