Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Multiple Aux lights to one switch

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2005, 09:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Multiple Aux lights to one switch

Hi. I just email 4crawler for some help and he gave me good info, but because I'm new to this I'm not quite sure if I understand what exactly to do.

Here is the scoop. I have 4 Lightforce 170's that I want to hook up to 1 OEM Toyota lighted switch. There is a diagram set up for hooking two lights up but I'm not sure what to do when there are 4. Do I just doplicate the set-up that Lightforce recommends or is there a better way?

4crawler told me to either A. get a larger relay (40amp) or B. run two relays in parallel. I'm having a hard time visualizing what exactly to do. If some one could please give me some pointers, ie what gauge, connectors and so on to use I would greatly appreciate it. TIA
Hanley
Attached Thumbnails Multiple Aux lights to one switch-wiring-diag.gif  
Old 08-03-2005, 11:33 AM

I took a few minutes to modify your orig. diagram with Photoshop.

This would be using 2 relays (I'd use 30 amp - but if the Lightforce came with 20, then use 'em).
Use 14 gauge wire on the main power wires coming from the battery. Use 16 gauge on everything else. Solder all connecters if you can...this will save alot of time / headache in the long run. You'll want wire connectors at the relays & switches incase these ever go bad.

You basically just split or "Y" the 12+ power wire (in red) to each relay & then do the same for the switch-able "on" wire (in green). They make wire taps or you can peel back some of wire insulation & solder. Or you can just use a spade connector @ the relay that both wires can go into. Be sure to use something to re-insulate the connection like shrink wrap tube, or the brush on kind, or at the very least use electrical tape.

Hope this helps!

Eric