Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

Spacemonkee23's 87 4Runner SR5

Old 04-19-2016, 01:18 PM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Spacemonkee23's 87 4Runner SR5 *Pic Heavy*

Hey everyone,

Im new here, Just picked up this 87 SR5 Runner. Not my first truck and not my first Yota. However, this is my first 4runner and 22RE.

Been using this forum to get this project DD & camping worthy and reading up to learn more about this truck. Always wanted one, finally pulled the trigger.

Currently it has a few issues but mostly in pretty good mechanical shape. So far I've mostly done tune up stuff and basic "new purchase assessment" related fixes, as it sat for about a couple years.

Once its running the way I like it to I'll start working on the fun stuff. Basically a Daily Driven weekend warrior camping setup for the fam and I.

If anyone can help me on my check engine light issue (CA Smog failure, ugh) its flasing a Code 4 for the Coolant Temp Sensor, already replaced the sensor, green plug sensor next to the cold start injector sensor, but it still is throwing the code so it must be in the wiring or the ECU. Just did a coolant flush and cleaned up all the other coolant sensors while I was at it.

Thanks for checking it out.
4/14/16




2/20/17

8/6/17

5/25/18

4/16/2019

Last edited by Spacemonkee23; 06-24-2019 at 10:24 AM.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 04-19-2016, 02:29 PM
  #2  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tidewater, Va
Posts: 133
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looks like it is in pretty good shape overall, and I love the look of the stock sr5 rims
chbarnha is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 07:20 AM
  #3  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by chbarnha View Post
Looks like it is in pretty good shape overall, and I love the look of the stock sr5 rims
Yeah, its in decent shape overall. body has a few blemishes but nothing extreme, no major rust! A little surface rust but that's all.

I love these wheels too, just need to find one more before I get new tires.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 11:57 AM
  #4  
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
rustED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colville, Wa
Posts: 2,694
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to Yotatech, nice find! Looks like it's in great shape. I like the SR5 wheels too, I just bought 5 of them awhile back, just need to pick up another matching tire for a spare. Look forward to seeing your progress on the build!
rustED is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 12:20 PM
  #5  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by rustED View Post
Welcome to Yotatech, nice find! Looks like it's in great shape. I like the SR5 wheels too, I just bought 5 of them awhile back, just need to pick up another matching tire for a spare. Look forward to seeing your progress on the build!
Thanks rustED, glad to be here. I've already been on the lookout for one. A couple of guys selling sets of 4 on CL but I really only need the one and I doubt they will split 'em up.

Progress will be slow but hopefully steady.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 01:59 PM
  #6  
Registered User
 
punks_is_4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 396
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Did u check the sensor on top of the thermostat housing ?
punks_is_4x4 is offline  
Old 04-21-2016, 12:56 AM
  #7  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by punks_is_4x4 View Post
Did u check the sensor on top of the thermostat housing ?
The wire was pulled out of the connector on that sensor when I got it. I soldered it back together on the first day. I thought this was a shut off for AC overheat? Would that throw the code? I cleaned all of the sensors up when I did the coolant flush. Haven't tested it though. Maybe I'll give that a shot.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 04-21-2016, 12:16 PM
  #8  
Registered User
 
punks_is_4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 396
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I used to get a code 4 as well and i got a new se sensor and spliced in a new wire and the code went away I think that the tps is connected to the same sensor tho as well as the cst cold start and the temp sensor so check all of them and make sure they test good there's tests for them online
punks_is_4x4 is offline  
Old 04-22-2016, 08:41 AM
  #9  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by punks_is_4x4 View Post
I used to get a code 4 as well and i got a new se sensor and spliced in a new wire and the code went away I think that the tps is connected to the same sensor tho as well as the cst cold start and the temp sensor so check all of them and make sure they test good there's tests for them online
Thanks I'll have to check these after the weekend. Heading out of town for a business trip. I get to judge a classic car show for one of our magazines (Drive Magazine), should be awesome! If anyone will be near Half Moon Bay this weekend come check it out. Pacific Coast Dream Machine show in Northern California.

Thanks for the tips, punk.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Last edited by Spacemonkee23; 03-16-2017 at 05:29 AM.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 04-26-2016, 01:51 PM
  #10  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Was out at Half Moon Bay this weekend judging the Pacific Coast Dream Machine car show for Drive Magazine. Met up with a few other first gen owners and even got another SR5 wheel while I was there. Thanks, Duane! Just need to get new tires and build rear a swing out.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 04-26-2016, 05:21 PM
  #11  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hendersonville NC
Posts: 652
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I thought the coolant temp sensor for the ecu was on the front side of the intake rather than the top of the housing.

I thought that was the gauge sensor.
92ehatch is offline  
Old 04-26-2016, 08:37 PM
  #12  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by 92ehatch View Post
I thought the coolant temp sensor for the ecu was on the front side of the intake rather than the top of the housing.

I thought that was the gauge sensor.
There are 4 in mine, two horizontal (CSI sensor-brown plug, ECU sensor-green plug_replaced) and two vertical (A/C overheat - single wire in the thermostat housing, gauge sensor - single wire in between cyl 3&4). At least that's what I've found researching.
All have checked out within spec. Next step is to check wiring and inspect ECU

Last edited by Spacemonkee23; 04-26-2016 at 08:44 PM.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 04-26-2016, 08:47 PM
  #13  
Registered User
 
punks_is_4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 396
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
So if yr still getting code 4 I would again get the tps taken off and probably just get a new denso one for your year of truck if you read through my build I fought with mine for awhile and my temp sensors and it ended up just being the tps
punks_is_4x4 is offline  
Old 04-26-2016, 09:15 PM
  #14  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by punks_is_4x4 View Post
So if yr still getting code 4 I would again get the tps taken off and probably just get a new denso one for your year of truck if you read through my build I fought with mine for awhile and my temp sensors and it ended up just being the tps
You are probably on the right track. Haven't had a chance to test the TPS But I did find the connector is broken. When I have time I'll pull the throttle body to clean it and swap the pigtail and TPS.
Thanks!
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 05-02-2016, 07:52 AM
  #15  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I "passed" smog! The expression "by the skin of your teeth" is well fitting here. The max amount for HC is 131, and guess what it ran... 131! My check engine light issue was solved by wiring the charge light to the check engine light... shhh; Don't judge me. Now I need to actually fix the problem. At least I can do it without an inspection deadline. TPS is next on the list need to pick up a new connector for it also.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 05-09-2016, 11:09 AM
  #16  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Killed some time the other day by putting my PA/CB and (Temporary) "LONG THROW" tap handle shift knob. Haha

Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 05-09-2016, 07:25 PM
  #17  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tidewater, Va
Posts: 133
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I like the tap handle. I have been looking for a Natty Boh one to put in mine. I wish my cb would fit right there, but at the hunt club they run on high and low frequencies which I couldn't find a small sized radio to fit underneath. Guess ill just have to go to the glovebox mount again.
chbarnha is offline  
Old 05-09-2016, 07:47 PM
  #18  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by chbarnha View Post
I like the tap handle. I have been looking for a Natty Boh one to put in mine. I wish my cb would fit right there, but at the hunt club they run on high and low frequencies which I couldn't find a small sized radio to fit underneath. Guess ill just have to go to the glovebox mount again.
Thanks, it definitely needs a short shifter soon the extra height makes the sloppy shifter even worse.

The CB location is temporary until I get the center console plans set in motion.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  
Old 05-09-2016, 07:56 PM
  #19  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tidewater, Va
Posts: 133
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
could you drill out the tap handle to where it fit down on the shifter more? make it shorter that way maybe?
chbarnha is offline  
Old 05-09-2016, 08:09 PM
  #20  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Spacemonkee23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by chbarnha View Post
could you drill out the tap handle to where it fit down on the shifter more? make it shorter that way maybe?
It's a temporary setup. My buddy wanted me to do it. Prob won't last too long. There are other things I would rather spend time on. Need to adjust valves, front main seal needed, late model plenum swap to fix the cold start stumbles, retap exhaust studs in the head, etc.

I'll prob put more effort into the tap later down the road.
Spacemonkee23 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Spacemonkee23's 87 4Runner SR5


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: