Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Looking to replace engine. Suggestions/Recommendations?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2007, 05:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Looking to replace engine. Suggestions/Recommendations?

Mornin' folks. First post, but long time reader.

I have a '95 4Runner that has a blown HG and due to that, a blown bearing below. After calling around, it seems that shops will either rebuild it or replace the engine entirely. Faced with this decision and seeing no huge change in price, I'm planning on upgrading to a 3.4. I have no real mechanical experience, short of simple maintanence and some wiring.

Are there any reputable dealers in engines that you would suggest? I'm looking to get a reman engine. I've done my research and have a list, but no experience with any of them. I'm located in the Denver area.
Old 06-04-2007, 06:12 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
IMHO... paying someone else to do a "conversion" (changing engine type) is not cost effective.

DIY is the ony way to do a cost effective "conversion". Its still not "cheap" if you factor in all the nickle and dime stuff - and esp if you factor in "labor" costs.

Huge downside to the a conversion - its harder to get a shop to "repair" it as they cant tell what was "done". Just how was the wiring redone. Can you provided an updated FSM for the wiring alone (and not throw an FSM for each year at them)???

I dont like reman engines - they are usually done "cheaply". I prefere to get an engine built to my specs by machine shops I trust. If you "stay stock" a rebuild this way is not that $$ - certianly not LC level expensive.
Old 06-04-2007, 01:33 PM

I've looked over on the other posts about the conversions. Is it even possible? I'm going from a 3.0 auto to a 3.4 auto... Is there a wiring harness and will the engine mate with the tranny?