Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Blown Headgasket

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2009, 08:32 AM

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Blown Headgasket

It just keeps getting better...

My head gasket on my 22R is blown. I had a shop check it out and they confirmed it. I was pretty sure anyway since I looked like the space shuttle driving down the road (white smoke from exhaust).

The shop wants to literally rape me for the job.

I've figured that I can get a kit from Engbldr and replace my HG, timing chain, water pump and oil pump for 1/6 of what they want to charge me. The only issue is that I've NEVER done anything as major as this before.

I've seen a bunch of write ups on this. I actually think I could handle the HG job but the timing chain looks like I could easily mess that up since it can be tough getting the chain back on.

There goes the Christmas budget!
Old 12-11-2009, 08:34 AM

OH, I forgot to add - what else should I consider doing since I'm going to be up to my ears in this job?

I am going to have the head taken to a local machine ship to be milled and pressure checked.

Anything else?
Old 12-11-2009, 09:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
yeah, take the head to a machine shop and have them check it at least. And while they are in there they can pressure check it too... when you take it all apart, take the extra time to label everything (it will pay off later). Be sure and buy a set of new head bolts and follow the torqing sequence....
Old 12-11-2009, 09:56 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by cgeorge
The shop wants to literally rape me for the job.

Do you mean literally rape you, like put their [insert word here] into your [insert other word here] ? Or did you just use the word literally extremely out of context?
Old 12-11-2009, 02:01 PM

Originally Posted by DupermanDave