Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

Newb looking to do an ENTIRE drivetrain conversion on 2gen 4Runner

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2015, 03:10 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Newb looking to do an ENTIRE drivetrain conversion on 2gen 4Runner

This is my first post and looking for some info as the title states. I'm pretty new to off roading and had an FJ Cruiser as my first off road vehicle but didn't get into any modding before I needed to sell it. I picked up a 94 4runner 5 speed that already had a 7.5 inch lift and front and rear Spartan lockers and some other goodies and had a blast in Moab. The headgasket is now toast and I have no intention of putting any money into the weak 3.0. I've been doing lots of research in preparation to put in a 350 and the consensus is to keep it under 300hp to reliably use the stock transmission and tcase. But I'm thinking I want more. I have a Titan with standard bolt on mods and programmer that I'm going to sell once I get the Runner back on the road, and I'm going to miss all the power. I'm looking at a budget of $10-15k. I know I can just buy a newer vehicle but I'm a welder/fabricator and have been dabbling in CF laminating, and these older vehicles have a much simpler construction and I plan on tearing out the entire interior including the dash and putting in a new gauge cluster the same time as the engine and making a tube frame/CF dash. I've replaced my own heads on a V6 DOHC transverse mounted twin turbo engine, pulled thr tranny and tcase a few times to replace clutches, but my drivetrain knowledge stops there. Its been pretty overwhelming trying to look through all the different parts individually so I figured I need to ask people who know the stuff directly.