Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

82 Toyota Pickup Starting Problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2014, 03:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
82 Toyota Pickup Starting Problems

Newbie here, I have tried searching and cannot find the exact answer to my question so I figured I would post it here.

I am in the process of restoring a 82 PU 4wd long bed. The truck was my father in laws. It has been sitting in the driveway for the past couple of years. It was running when parked but I am having trouble starting it now.

I can get the truck to run only by putting fuel in the carburetor. I believe that I might need a fuel pump but I also think the fuel line/tank is in need of cleaning. Where is a good place to start? Should I replace the fuel pump and filter and then use carb cleaner on the carb? Should I go ahead and drop and drain the tank?

Awesome site. Tons of great info.

Thanks for the help!
Old 03-11-2014, 06:19 AM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts
Welcome to YotaTech and welcome to the addiction - we here are enablers so your addiction will only get worse! LOL

Here's the troubleshoot that I usually people new to these trucks (do it in these steps):