Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

No parking lights or dash light PLEASE HELP

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2009, 08:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No parking lights or dash light PLEASE HELP

hey im a noob here and came across a little issue with my parking lights and dash lights. I bout the truck a 1992 regular cab 22re with 193xxx miles on it. i love the truck. so i decided to add a new stereo in it and power locks. I installed the locks and head unit on the same day. the next day the car had problems starting. and after a couple days i got in the truck and tried to turn the lights on and i didnt get no parking lights or dash light. the only thing that worked was the head light....turn signals and brake lights and reverse lights work fine and all fuses look to be intact. WHAT SHOULD I DO??
Old 03-21-2009, 03:06 PM

no one?
Old 03-21-2009, 03:19 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
well i had a similar prob in my 86 the tailights wouldent come on nor the dash lights but the brake lights did... i took apart the dash to find a burnt up wiring harness $15 bucks off ebay and about 2 hours time and fixed, but sorry to say if thats your case its not going to be that easy cuz you have EFI n such...just poke around under the dash, maybe pull the cluster ( thats where mine was burnt up) and see it something cut into it and its grounding out maybe? what did you tie into when installing power locks? and did you tie into anything when you put in the head unit??? just some things to check out
Old 03-21-2009, 03:30 PM

I pulled the dash and checked couldnt find any burn harnessed or grounded wires. i taped into the ignition wire for the power locks. as far as the head unit goes i didnt tap into anything else. is there a parking light relay? could it be the switch on the left side of the steering colum?
Old 03-21-2009, 03:35 PM

fuse...

http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/4R_TechI...tml#Electrical

Last edited by t0mwat3r; 03-21-2009 at 03:37 PM.