Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

What to do about wheathered running boards

Old 10-08-2002, 10:55 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question What to do about wheathered running boards

Hey all,
This is my first time here, so I've got to pick you all's brains on alot of stuff.

I've got a 1990 4Runner and the running boards and rear step are getting pretty weathered. Does anybody know what to do about that kinda thing? Somebody suggested spraying it with some of that spray on bedliner stuff. Also, somebody else said to use some of the stuff used to blacken tires (sorry forget what it is called).
Another question, the black trim around all the windows is starting to get really spotty. Sort of looks like a coat of finish is wearing off. Any ideas on that?

Any suggestions would be great.
Have fun.
DH6twinotter
Old 10-08-2002, 11:01 AM
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Hello DH, and welcome to the forums.

My running boards were the same way when I got my '91 4Runner.

What I found that worked really good was that tire foam spray you buy to clean and shine tires with.

I used it on them, and also along the black strip on top of the rear bumper.
I also use it at every rig wash and spray the mudfaps and inside the fender well.

Back To Black is what I think you are talking about.
I also used that on my boards the first time, but the tire cleaner stuff worked better.

The trim around the windows might look better with some 303 Protectant on them.
Kind of like Armor All, but not greasy, and better stuff.
Old 10-08-2002, 11:04 AM