Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

mod blueprint

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2004, 07:58 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
mod blueprint

Hello,
I'd like to thank you all for this great site. I've been visiting for about 2 months and registered about a month ago. I appreciate the friendly feedback to everyones questions, even those of us that are not as mechanically savvy. My question: I have an '86 Runner w/ 22re, essentially stock except for BFG 31's on aftermarket rims. I'd like some input on a blueprint for modification. The truck is no longer my daily driver so it can be out of service for extended periods although I'd prefer to avoid that if possible. It has 227k w/ timing chain and valve job at approx 120k, otherwise just routine maintenance. It is currently a little tired and seems to leak oil from every concievable place but requires only about 1/2 qt top off of oil between changes (I change at 2500mi). So... I figure powertrain is first on the to do list. I don't really know the extent of what it needs yet as other household projects have monopolized my time and I haven't even done a compression check on it yet. After reading through old threads about 22re mods the only real consensus I get is that mods are cheap and easy and that a TRD phase 1 cam is a good thing. Otherwise, I seem to find contradictory info on such things as oversized valves, highflow exhaust etc. After the engine, I figure SAS, lift and regearing for 32" or 33" tires, but that stuff is for another time and I have plenty of time to do more research on that. For those of you that have or had a 22re, what worked and what didn't. BTW I'm after torque mostly. Thanks in advance.

Mike

Here's a link to some pics
http://community.webshots.com/scripts/controlPanel.fcgi
Old 04-13-2004, 08:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts