Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Hesitaion under acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2005, 10:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hesitaion under acceleration

I have a 96 limited with 142k on it.
It has recently began to have a bad hessitaion/stutter starting at 2k rpm and continuing to about 3300 or so. it occurs under acceleration or load on the highway, but under light pedal effort. If i floor it, it will downshift and rev higher and it goes away, i first thought it was the trans, but i held in gear and it did it in 2, d, and Od.
where can I start to daignose this problem?
sometimes it wont downshift and i am stuck at about 60mph when going slightly uphill ect. with the pedal floored.

Thanks, Im relatively new to toyotas.
Old 12-24-2005, 05:32 AM

i would start at the easy stuff first like maybe a fuel filter. i am sure if you do a search you will find alot of threads on this matter.
Old 12-24-2005, 10:00 AM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by KyleT
I have a 96 limited with 142k on it.
It has recently began to have a bad hessitaion/stutter starting at 2k rpm and continuing to about 3300 or so. it occurs under acceleration or load on the highway, but under light pedal effort. If i floor it, it will downshift and rev higher and it goes away, i first thought it was the trans, but i held in gear and it did it in 2, d, and Od.
where can I start to daignose this problem?
sometimes it wont downshift and i am stuck at about 60mph when going slightly uphill ect. with the pedal floored.

Thanks, Im relatively new to toyotas.