Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

22RE TRD Level 2 CAM ISSUES

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2003, 08:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22RE TRD Level 2 CAM ISSUES

I have the TRD level 2 cam in my 4runner, and I dont think its running right. I have a header, flowmaster 50 sereis, 2.25" tail pipe,. no cat. I dont think it runs right becuae it friggin stinks. I turned my MAF sensor 2 click richer, and I can tell its running much richer since it takes twice as long to warm up in the mornings. I just cant figure out why my mileage is so bad. Sometime I get down around 10, other around 18-20..I even got 23 once. It also doesn't seen to climb hills as fast as it used to with the stock cam...but it seems like it has more power in 5th, cause I dont have to downshift on every hill. Its really pissin me off. It seems that if I dont have to give it much gas it runs better the 3/4-full throtle.

I am almost about to put the stock cam back in....my water temp sensor is new, and the o2 senser is only a year old...so I dont know...I have an extra 3 feet of tail pipe, pumped it out the pass side..so I dont think there is too little backpressure, even with out a cat.

HELP..anyone have this cam or similar problems???

Old 03-03-2003, 08:39 AM
Contributing Member

Re: 22RE TRD Level 2 CAM ISSUES

Originally posted by 4x4nala
I dont think it runs right becuae it friggin stinks. even with out a cat.
Can you define "friggin stinks?"

Are we talking rotten eggs, or unburnt fuel, or what?

I have had experience with cams and running without a cat. The no cat thing really jacked up my low-end torque, or should I say, lack thereof. (Mazda 2.2, Honda 1.6)

It sounds like you are loading up at partial throttle, thus losing power. This whole "2 clicks" of the MAF things worries me. So what you are saying, is that you have added more fuel across the board, for a cam designed for better mid to high-end breathing?