Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

2003 4Runner Head Unit Area

Old 09-21-2003, 06:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2003 4Runner Head Unit Area

Alright guys, well I am planning on purchasing the Pioneer Navigation System Combo but I am afraid that the two units will not fit in the head-unit area. I have a 2003 4Runner with the factory head-unit still installed. Has anyone had any experience in installing two decks (is that the word?) in the factory head-unit area? Hopefully that makes sense, I am not sure if I got all the terminology correct since I am still learning . Below is a photo of the system I want to purchase, if anyone can give me feedback about this issue it would be much appreciated. Thanks

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pi...910DVD_big.jpg
Old 09-22-2003, 08:09 AM
Contributing Member

Not sure if it will fit or not (no experience on double din installs on toyota's). I would measure the height of the stock radio and then compare it to the height (combined) of the aftermarket radio.

The biggest problem you will run into are the trimming that you will need. Currently the two companies out there that makes the trimming only has the single din versions. Until the double din kit comes out you'll have a 1/4" gap on either side of the radio (which will look very ugly).

hope this helps. if you need more info I would walk into a car audio shop and ask them if they can find the trim kit for you. They will also know if two single dins will fit in your toyota head unit.

good luck and make sure you tell us what you've learned.
Old 09-22-2003, 09:43 AM