3.4 Swaps The 3.4 V6 Toyota engine

3.0 to 3.4 California smog

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2016, 02:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3.0 to 3.4 California smog

Hi I'm new to this whole Toyota scene.
I I'm wondering how much will the 3vze to the 5vz swap will cost me with it being able to be able to be smog in CA. I'm about to rebuild my 3vze so I wanted to see if it's wasn't way to much $$ from swapping it.
Old 04-14-2016, 03:34 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It depends, it can cost upwards of $5-6,000 if you go "all-out" or you could end up making money on the swap if you find a decent donor and part out what you don't need.

I know you don't want to hear it, but search around in here, read through some of the stickies (the threads at the top of each page), and some of the various swap threads floating around.

I'm in CA and did my swap back in 2012, I paid $1,200 for the motor, ECU, engine harness, dash harness (not completely needed but 100% nice to have), all the accessories (A/C, PS, alt, starter), all the EVAP components, intake, etc, etc, etc. From there I tore as much down as I could to clean the rust off the block, replacing gaskets as I went, plus did a full timing belt, tensioner, bearings, seals. I also did all my own wiring, and I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if I spent $3,500-4,000 overall (there was an extra $1,200 in there for a different junkyard motor, since the first one was shot, 2 bad head gaskets and both heads were cracked).

Before you get too far invested, call and speak with a SMOG Referee about what is required to pass SMOG for an "engine change" (in CA, you're changing the engine, if you were replacing with another 3.0 CA would consider that an "engine swap"); 1-800-622-7733, http://asktheref.org/ .

Good luck and definitely do some more reading, all your answers are written down, though they are scattered throughout this sub-forum.
Old 04-15-2016, 09:20 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
And don't forget the $8.25 for this baby!