Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

Getting started! Questions on axle prep.

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2010, 05:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Getting started! Questions on axle prep.

Good morning ladies and gentlemen of the interwebs! I am rejuvenated this Monday morning with bits and pieces of my new project rattling around in my head. That is why I'm here, searching for answers.

First of all, sorry for the lack of pics, I'm actually doug this from my iPhone, and though I love the yotatech mobile site, I don't believe pics are possible from it. I'll post a couple of the axle when i get home tonight.

For a long time I've struggled with which direction to go with my trusty 93 ext. cab p/u. The 240k mile V6 and auto tranny are running well (notwithstanding an oil leak which will be taken care of during the course of this project), and the truck no longer serves as my everyday driver. I have no real experience with major upgrades such as an SAS, but have always wanted to try it, and it just so happens that my boss is a welder/fabricator by trade (I work at a rail car repair shop) and is getting ready to install a lift at his home shop... So that made the decision easier. After battling with it and researching for months and months, I decided to go all in with a SAS.

Before I go any further, let me thank the Waskillywabbit from Wabfab.org. Saturday morning when I decided to go track down a donor axle, he got a text message at about 8am his time requesting assistance. I went from my home in northern Kentucky to BFE southern Ohio to see a supposed 85 axle I found on Craigslist. After much debate with the owner, and passing back and forth pictures to the Wabman, it was determined that the axle was actually 79-81. I was initially disappointed, but after negotiations with the owner, I wound up getting it pretty cheap, so I'm off and running.