Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Newbie Modification Information

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2009, 10:46 PM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by first_toyo_owner
hey i have a 90 4runner 2 door now I have been looking to make it more trail worthy after I pay off the loan heh. but as it sits right now i still use it as a day to day vehicle. Should I just focus on tires and armor. I got new shocks in it but its stock and I don't want it huge due to what everyone has said in this post. it can go over most stuff I want it to. But with rubbing all you need is a sawsall and a hammer? sounds easy enough i guess but i take it you need to cover up the cut marks as well? sorry if these questions are dumb lol I am still learning
This post was made for a set of guidelines to make people think before blowing money on their rigs, so that they can blow money in an effective manner

Some recommendations I'd have are:

Get a set of stock sized tires, but in a more aggressive tread. I wouldn't jump up in tire size until you've gotten out on the trail for a while

Get armor as you can afford it. Wheel it.

Then regear with a locker for the rear.

Keep in mind the following:

Internet boards like this one can be a great resource for finding information, and tips/tricks. Unfortunately, they also lead people to believe that a truck needs to be made "trail worthy". This is not the case.

Your truck, with a decent set of tires, is already quite trail worthy. Some recovery/safety gear IS necessary, as it could save your life if you get stuck. Other than that, wheel your truck. Nothing more than that.