Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Need info to repack bearings and do brakes on 1 ton full floating rear axle & wheels

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2013, 12:53 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Need info to repack bearings and do brakes on 1 ton full floating rear axle & wheels

Hi,

I'm in the process of swapping rear axles between two Toyota Sunrader motorhomes. Why? Because my donor motorhome (83) has a 1 ton full floating rear axle with duallys (6 lug) that I'm going to put on my keeper Toyota motorhome (82) that has a 1/2 ton axle with what some call "fake duallys (5 lug)."

I'm not a mechanic but my budget forces me to do the work myself (or most of it), and assuming its not too difficult, I want to learn how to do stuff like brakes and repacking bearings, etc. myself.

So far I have removed the 1 ton axle from the donor and I'm almost ready to remove the 1/2 ton axle from the keeper.

I need to figure out how to do the following and would appreciate it if you can tell me where I can find step-by-step videos and/or articles geared towards beginners for the following please...

1) How to take apart the rear wheels for both the 1 ton and the 1/2 ton so I can disconnect the parking brake cables?

2) How to repack bearings on the 1 ton axle and anything else that will need grease?

3) How to know if the brake linings need replacing on the 1 ton wheels and how to replace them?

4) Anything else you can think of that I need to do when swapping these two axles. (I'm not going to do any work on the 1/2 axle and wheels except to move it over to the donor motorhome so I can sell it later for parts)

Thanks very much! :-)

Steve
Attached Thumbnails Need info to repack bearings and do brakes on 1 ton full floating rear axle & wheels-both-.jpg   Need info to repack bearings and do brakes on 1 ton full floating rear axle & wheels-1-ton-toy-axle-kit-toyota.jpg