Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

22re to 22r swap questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2019, 07:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re to 22r swap questions

Hello, Total newbie to this question, I looked on old threads but found much confusing information. I traded for a complete newly built 22R engine, the engine was in an '85 pick-up, has new LCE pistons,
LCE header kit, LCE cylinder head, Offenhauser manifold with weber 38 carb, LCE double row timing kit, crane ignition kit, new distributor, everything basically new and from LCE. I have an '87 4runner with EFI and a blown engine. I'd like to put the new engine in the 4runner but am wondering what mods will be necessary. Will the ECU from the 22re work with 22R, how different are the wiring harnesses? will the exhaust header routing that worked on the pick-up work on the 4runner?, does the '85 truck (solid axle) use same oil pan as 4runner engine?, do I have to exchange the coil/igniter set up for one from a 22r vehicle? If this is all a giant problem can I switch the EFI stuff over to the carb engine? My goal is to get things done with as little modification as possible. Vehicle will be driven mostly on country roads not serious off roading. TIA for any help/info you can provide.
Old 06-30-2019, 11:39 AM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
Unless you are really set on a carburetor over fuel injection you should strip the sensors and manifolds off the EFI and put them on the long block.

If you're dead set on having a efi to carb conversion, one of Terry's threads covered this I good detail. I don't recall which thread, he was trying to solve a cherry manifold (to much heat in exhaust) problem.
Old 06-30-2019, 07:35 PM

Received 568 Likes on 448 Posts