Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Weird ticking sound in my 22re HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2011, 01:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weird ticking sound in my 22re HELP!!!

Hello to all

So I have a 94 22 re 2x4 at 195,xxx and I have been noticing a very distinct soft erratic ticking sound coming from the motor. I originally thought it may be the timing chain but I took it to my mechanic and he assured me that is not the case. I am no mechanic but I have pin pointed the sound to around the exhaust manifold area, possibly back of motor. The sound only manifests itself at a certain rpm then goes away. The truck doesn't seem to lack power in fact passed emissions yesterday with flying colors. My main concern is a fairly simple repair turning into something much bigger if I ignore it much longer. It has been apparent for probably 15,xxx miles, my mechanic though it was the cover on the manifold loose rattling around but I took it upon myself to rule that out by taking it off and it was still there. Hoping someone on here has had a comparable problem, could it be exhaust gasket leak, possibly a valve issue? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 11-06-2011, 05:18 AM
Contributing Member

Received 34 Likes on 14 Posts
Exhaust leaks often sound exactly like a tick.

That would be my guess.
Old 11-06-2011, 08:57 AM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Does it seem to be noticeable at lower RPM and more so on cold mornings? If so, sounds similar to an issue I've been battling for years on mine - exhaust manifold leak where the pipe hooks onto the header/collector.
Old 11-06-2011, 10:00 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
did you check for an exhaust leak? have you pulled the valve cover and checked the valves , rockers, and adjusters?
Old 11-06-2011, 10:40 AM

use the search bar?? just sayin.........
Old 11-06-2011, 10:49 AM
Contributing Member

I'm assuming you've done all of the basic maintenance?

Can you get a video of the noise you're hearing?