86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Timing cover gasket

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2012, 09:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Timing cover gasket

So im new to this whole toyota thing i just got an 87 with the 22r seems to run good but leaks oil out the timing cover gasket i was just wondering how big a job it would be to replace the gasket and is there anything else i should do while im in there? any help is greatly appreciated thanks.
Old 05-12-2012, 10:36 AM

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
How many miles?

How many miles since it's had a timing chain kit done?

IMHO, since I've been through this 'leaking timing cover' thing.... NOT worth it to try and seal it up through the bolt holes, etc..... It doesn't last most often(didn't for me).

Timing chain job is a bit extensive for a beginner... but it's a GOOD, no GREAT thing to learn on. You have to remove quite a bit, but it's pretty roomy in there and as long as you follow EVERY instruction to the tee... you'll be fine. Personally, if you're, let's say, 150K Miles and never done the timing chain? I'd do it now, ABSOLUTELY!

1.(IF YOU ARE over 150K miles and on the same chain kit) Order the kit from www.engnbldr.com . Give them a call and talk to Tod really quick, explain to him the miles, etc., and let him help you decide on "should I get a new Water Pump, Oil Pump, just get the whole kit?" stuff.. HE WILL NOT try to sell you anything, ...but GREAT guy and great customer service. (Especially with an 87 22RE with 7" lift... I would imagine it does a WEE bit more work than most, eh? )

2. When you get to the Chain install(if you do so), DO NOT PUT GLOBS OF SEALER ON THE GASKET/BLOCK/T-COVER, k? IT WILL leak again(ask me how I know? My former KNOB machinist did it to me, leaked like a pig!).