86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Removing tranny from 86' 22RE 4runner

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2006, 05:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Removing tranny from 86' 22RE 4runner

I need some tips or a guide as to how to remove the transmission from my 4runner so I can replace the shortblock and clutch. I've never done this before on my 4runner so I'd like to know what to expect, etc. Thanks YotaTech
Old 10-05-2006, 06:13 PM

get some good latex gloves like the doctor wears. Makes cleaning your hands easier.

Get a decent floor jack and a set of 4 jack stands. Jack that sucker up as high as you can get it and put it on the tallest stands you can find. I am talking like 24-30 inches if you can find them that big fully extended. Get a tranny adapter for the floor jack.

If you are doing this, you will need all of these again someday when you go to do brakes or wheel bearing work. So it's not like you will only use it for one job.

Get a good torque wrench. Click type or bar type it doesn't matter.

A good 36" 1/2" drive extention bar and a 17mm 1/2" drive flex socket. Works great for those two top bolts on the tranny.

Take a couple of 1" tie-down straps. You can support the rear of the transfer with it while you are pulling out the cross-member. The second one is so that you can support the rear of the engine with it while you pull the tranny/transfer.

Refill your gear boxes with Synthetic gear oil.

DON'T BUY CHEAP WRENCHES. it will save you headaches later when you get a stubborn bolt.

Find a pilot bearing puller You will save yourself some serious headache. It will make a nightmare job a joy in a matter of about 2 minutes.

Buy more beer.

Last edited by farmerj; 10-05-2006 at 06:22 PM.
Old 10-05-2006, 06:25 PM