Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Removing throttle body 22re

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2013, 08:52 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Removing throttle body 22re

I have been plagued with a high idle issue since I bought my truck back in February. I am planning on burping my radiator later today to cross that off my list of possible causes. I believe the issue lies with my tps being faulty. I have read the 4crawler guide and if burping my radiator does not work I plan on removing my throttle body to install and configure a new TPS. I have consulted my Chilton's as well as the 93 FSM that is available online and I still am a little concerned with the process. Is there a guide with pictures anywhere that you guys can point me to? I've never removed a TB before and I am still learning the ins and outs of my truck. I was told buy the guy who I bought my truck from that he replaced the motor (the truck is an 88) with one from an 89. I have the straight TB not the angled one. As far as ordering my replacement TPS should I simply look at my current TPS and order one from LCE with the same part number? Any help is much appreciated.
Old 10-09-2013, 09:21 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Don't buy a new TPS just yet, they often just need to be adjusted.

First off though, did you adjust the idle air screw? http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...nce/2maint.pdf, see page MA-12. Turn it clockwise to lower speed. That might fix it and take 30 seconds of your time.