Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Question with 2wd starter Vs. 4wd starter

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2012, 12:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question with 2wd starter Vs. 4wd starter

Hey Guys!
I'm a newbie here and bought my first 4runner several weeks ago. WooHOO! Its a 1995 V6 4 wheel drive. Bought it for cheep because it needs some work including a new starter.

Got a question on the starters for these older 4runners. There seems to be a starter for the 2wd models and a different one for the 4wd models. Is there any difference between these? They look exactly the same from pics online. There is a major price difference between the 2 thats why i'm asking.

thanks for any help!!
Old 08-16-2012, 01:54 PM

Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
3.0L 4Runner starter made by Denso. 2 types available as stock equipment. RWD/4WD w/manual, or 4WD w/automatic. The difference is the RWD/4WD w/manual type is a 1.4KW, the 4WD w/ automatic type is a 1.6KW. AFAIK that's the only difference between the 2. So I don't know for sure if they're interchangeable. But I assume they are because Toyota also lists the 1.6KW as cold weather spec. Meaning, it should fit in place of the 1.4KW, but work better in cold weather.

http://www.densoproducts.com/results...ctCategoryID=6
Old 08-16-2012, 05:21 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Rough translation: one is "low torque" and one is "high torque".

The manual transmission doesn't have as much "dead weight" to spin as the automatic and as such doesn't need as much torque, except in colder climates. They should be interchangeable.