86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

O2 Sensor/Exhaust Pipe Warped; Sealant?

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2012, 07:37 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
O2 Sensor/Exhaust Pipe Warped; Sealant?

I've got a very odd problem and I'm not sure what to do with it. Doesn't seem like anyone's had this issue before.

I've been chasing a code 25 for the last two months on and off and came across the problem: bad gasket on the 02 sensor. I bought a new one and put it on (after tightening it pretty well) but there was a gap about 1 mm wide in the middle when I could stick my fingernail through. Obviously, this wasn't going to work. I took the metal rim off the old o2 gasket and narrowed it on the ends (to thicken the center) and put both back on. I checked it again and it seems to be holding for now.

Obviously, this is not a long-term solution. I expect the old gasket will break down pretty soon. Does anyone have any ideas on how to fill the gaps in between the gasket and the pipe? The exhaust pipe gets so hot, probably up to 300-400 degrees so I'm not sure if there's a sealant out there that can stay stiff enough to keep a seal. I'm open to any and all suggestions.

Last edited by Gamefreakgc; 11-28-2012 at 07:38 AM.
Old 11-28-2012, 07:51 AM
Contributing Member

Received 34 Likes on 14 Posts
Did a gasket come with the O2 sensor? What brand is it? If you have that kind of issue, I'd guess it is some of the old metal gasket still left on there.
Old 11-28-2012, 07:56 AM

Yes, the o2 sensor did come with a gasket but I did not install it, had a shop do it a year ago. I filed down the exhaust pipe where it comes in contact with the gasket thinking there might have been leftover gasket or sealant on the pipe. It helped a tiny bit but there wasn't anything substantial.

I was milling about and found these:

Exhuast System Joint and Crack Sealer
K & W Copper Coat Gasket Compound