86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

defrosters not working??

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2006, 05:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
defrosters not working??

newbie here with an electrical problem. A friend purchased a 95 4 runner and the rear defrosters do not work. I noticed that the rear passenger side glass has defrosters but the drivers side does not. This thing has defrosters on the back power glass also. All fuses are good. Before I tear into it and check the switch with a test light, has anyone else had a similar problem or know of a fix?? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also the rear power window(tailgate) works from the back but not with the switch on the console. Thanks in advance.
Old 10-30-2006, 06:07 PM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
On that it could be a few things... IIRC there should be a relay somewhere around the rear dr. corner that operates the defrost in the back glass, dunno bout the back side glass. When mine quit workin in my 87 (i know its different, but same theory still applies), i checked to make sure power was good at the relay, and was, then checked to see if the relay was operational, and it was, then checked all the grounds, which ended up being my problem... hope that at least gets ya started on the defrost.

Far as the rear window, could be a connection issue or switch issue... try takin the switch out, and jumpin the connectors on the swith connect to see if that will roll down the window.. if it does, switch needs a rebuild, if it doesnt, then its something else... however my money is on a faulty switch.
Old 10-30-2006, 06:14 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The reason no defroster on the driver side is because the driver can't see out of that window anyway.
Old 10-30-2006, 06:34 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post