gauge cluster - YotaTech Forums



Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

gauge cluster

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2010, 07:27 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Nimyad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: spokane wa.
Posts: 295
gauge cluster

i was wondering since on my 81 i don't have any rpm gauge, can i put in a later model gauge cluster and if so what years will fit? i'd really like the rpm gauge.
Nimyad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:46 PM   #2
Registered User
 
aquaprice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Queen Creek AZ
Posts: 120
I used one from an 83 on my 81. As far as I know anything from that generation is a direct swap.
aquaprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:52 PM   #3
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
slacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 5,803
yeah .. 81-83 will swap .. plug and play


.
slacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:58 PM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Nimyad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: spokane wa.
Posts: 295
what do i have to do for the rpm gauge to work? run any wires or sensors?
Nimyad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:56 PM   #5
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
trekkerpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 230
The 79-81 gauge cluster has round plugs and the 82-83 guage cluster has the square plug. The later model will bolt in, but you would have to figure out the wiring. You would have better luck finding a tach cluster with the correct plug. A 2WD cluster will work too, but you will have to disassemble both units, adding the tach and 2WD cover to your original unit so you can have the 4WD light.

Tha tach runs off the coil/ignighter assembly. I am pretty sure that all of the trucks wiring harnesses were made to take a tach, however I have heard that some of the non SR5 units were not wired for the tach.
trekkerpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 10:01 PM   #6
Registered User
 
shlobeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 173
Hey Paul, that's right, some cluster harnesses don't have a wire for the tach.. Fairly easy to run it to the coil though. For '82-'83 harnesses, the wiring for Dlx vs sr5 are different..it's not a plug and play..you need to splice in the correct wire to the cluster..
Got this off Marlin Crawler, this should help.

http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?topic=2973.0
shlobeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 09:39 AM   #7
83
Registered User
 
83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 3,987
That Marlin link has a lot of my info, which is also on this site in the archives. It's specifically 1983, but you'll get the idea on what needs to be done. So the wire colors/#'s won't help you, but the process will probably be basically the same, although I've heard that with pre-82/83 models, you can just plug in and everything works. No moving wires around, no running an extra wire for the tach. Good luck! For me, it was a sometimes frustrating, but fun job. No lifting heavy, greasy objects
83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 09:42 AM   #8
83
Registered User
 
83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 3,987
83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:55 PM   #9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Nimyad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: spokane wa.
Posts: 295
so i found out one of my friends has an 81 gauge cluster with an rpm gauge, now have to convince him to get rid of it. i do have the tach wire from the coil. so i was also wondering, my cluster has just a big T in the middle of that, can i pop that out and put a tach there instead?
Nimyad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Paint Job - I CAN'T make it look worse, so no harm done. ashamsuddin General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) 13 06-18-2016 01:17 AM
FS[MidAtl]: 1979-1983 Pickup Parts For Sale - Post Build Garage Clean Out kawazx636 Vehicles - Parting Out 31 02-23-2016 12:57 PM
Can't bleed front drivers caliper zanzabar0 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 21 10-11-2015 03:56 AM
3.0 rev limiter need help plz Jdgarrison 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 1 10-01-2015 06:22 PM
Newb looking to do an ENTIRE drivetrain conversion on 2gen 4Runner TheBFA Solid Axle Swaps, All Years 6 10-01-2015 01:18 AM


Tags
22r, 4x4, cluster, gauge, guage, install, put, rpm, toyota, wire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:34 AM.


2017 InternetBrands, Inc. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: