86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Whats the deal with toyota stock ring n pinion

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2007, 11:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by bruzer
I didn't just slap them in there, there the factory gears from when yota built the diff assembly. All factory, case has never been open to my knowledge.
Perhaps they're old and the crush sleeve has let them loosen up?

I'm no expert but perhaps a set of Yukon gears and a solid collar are the answer? Plus a good quality install.

Last edited by GV27; 06-21-2007 at 11:24 AM.
Old 06-21-2007, 11:30 AM

Originally Posted by GV27
Perhaps they're old and the crush sleeve has let them loosen up?

I'm no expert but perhaps a set of Yukon gears and a solid collar are the answer? Plus a good quality install.
That may be the best possibilty I have heard yet. I was thinking yota just dosent use a good enough material for there gears to handle what I put my 4runner through.
Time for a SAS!
Old 06-21-2007, 11:40 AM

Originally Posted by bruzer
That may be the best possibilty I have heard yet. I was thinking yota just dosent use a good enough material for there gears to handle what I put my 4runner through.
Time for a SAS!
Spend some time studying the site I linked to above. You can learn a ton. #1 is to have a real pro install your gears! Hopefully Zuk will chime in here at some point with the right questions and some actual knowledgeable answers.

Last edited by GV27; 06-21-2007 at 12:16 PM.
Old 06-21-2007, 11:54 AM