Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

question: how difficult should it be to determine harmonic balance bolt is loose?

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2006, 04:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
question: how difficult should it be to determine harmonic balance bolt is loose?

Hi all,

I am in the middle of a major battle with my local Toyota Service department. I took my superchargered 1996 4runner in for service because it was bogging and surging and often misfiring.

To make a long story short, it took the service team 55 hours to determine the harmonic balancer retaining bolt had loosened causing damage to the key way on the crankshaft. I am no mechanic so I have no idea how hard that would be to diagnose. They reduced the final bill down to 28 hours but I am still struggling to see why this took them so long to diagnose?

I am filing complaints with Toyota Canada and BBB to see if I can get my bill reduced.

Keep the flaming to a minimum please and give me your thoughts on how difficult that issue should have been to diagnose?
Old 08-29-2006, 05:32 AM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Wow.....that definately sounds very excessive. In real time that means they had 1 mechanic working on that vehicle for a little less than a week and a half......FULL TIME (8 hr days)! The crank bolt loosening has happened to a few other members on the board and I don't know how long it took them to get it diagnosed themselves (and these people are not professional Toyota mechanics) but I seriously doubt it was more than 2-3 full days (usually people can only work on the vehicle for 1-2 hrs per work day). Now when you're talking about diagnosis time, it is always subjective and obviously depends on the experience of the mechanic(s) involved. When was the last time you had your timing belt done and who did it? You might want to give them a little jingle and tell them the bill's on the way for fixing this mess as well.