Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Crank pulley wobble?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2006, 07:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crank pulley wobble?

History:
I had the Toyota dealership replace the timing belt, water pump, etc. on my wife's 97 4Runner. 10K miles later, my wife noticed the truck was driving really sluggish. I took it for a test drive and noticed the same thing. We took the truck back to the dealer to get it checked out. Turns out the crank pulley bolt was loose. The loose bolt caused the crank gear to wear. Toyota ended up replaced the timing belt, crank gear, crank shaft key and bolt. Apparently, the technician didn't tighten it down enough...doh.

So, I'm driving the truck the other day (66K miles later) and I noticed this vibration coming from the engine. I popped the hood and saw the crank pulley wobbling a little bit. I'm no Toyota expert, but the amount it was moving didn't look normal.

After reading several horror stories on here, I thought I would post to see if I'm overreacting.

Questions:
- Is this wobble normal?

- Is the crank pulley similar to a harmonic balancer, ie. does it wear out or get out of ballance?

- Is my previous problem related to this problem? If so, do I have a chance of getting Toyota to fix this?

- Even worse, is my crank toast?
Old 06-26-2006, 04:10 AM