Notices
Site Feedback Please use this forum to provide feedback, suggestions on the site

warning when navigating to yotatech???

Old 10-12-2010, 07:00 AM
  #21  
Registered User
 
Windsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: DFW, Texas!
Posts: 1,015
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ugh. so annoying.

Every yotatech.com url does this, regardless of me acknowledging "ignore warning" and clicking "not a hack site".

I need to find where to turn this 'feature' off in firefart until they fix it (warn me once, shut the heck up afterwards, at least for the day).
Windsor is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 07:06 AM
  #22  
Registered User
 
Magnusian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Downtown Heckronto, Ontario, Soviet Canuckistan
Posts: 1,499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
^^^^^^ alt+t+o (Tools -> Options) -> Security -> [] Block reported attack sites.

I turned this feature off in Firefox ages ago.

Last edited by Magnusian; 10-12-2010 at 07:07 AM.
Magnusian is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 07:25 AM
  #23  
Registered User
 
4x4jeffyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Gosnell,Arkansas
Posts: 493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i get the warning as well, i use firefox
4x4jeffyota is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 07:33 AM
  #24  
Registered User
 
MaK92-4RnR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Roseville, California ( NOR CAL )
Posts: 5,699
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I dont know, but it's getting irritating. is there anyway to permanently block the notice?
MaK92-4RnR is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 07:41 AM
  #25  
YotaTech Milestone-Two Millionth Post
 
92 TOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 12,009
Thanked 117 Times in 52 Posts
already a thread going on about this

https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f92/...tatech-221982/
92 TOY is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 07:54 AM
  #26  
Contributing Member
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 1,196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks, just noticed it.
Marc is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 07:58 AM
  #27  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 421
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am a Symantec technical account manager. This does not mean that your computer is infected. This is a protection feature built in that protects users from browsing pages, that could potentially contain malicious redirects, or files.

What this most likely means, is that google has scanned the site for malicious vulnerabilities, or malicious, or suspicious files and has found some. Most likely a bot got on here and hosted a malicious link, or somebody posted a picture that had a malicious redirect attached to it. I suspect the moderatores are fully aware of this, and will be working with google to resolve the issue.

-Chris
hamish_18 is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 08:04 AM
  #28  
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This is happening to me also.

Browser being used is FireFox
OS is Windows 7

My computer is **not** infected with any malware.
Zoofa is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 08:07 AM
  #29  
Registered User
 
Windsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: DFW, Texas!
Posts: 1,015
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Magnusian View Post
^^^^^^ alt+t+o (Tools -> Options) -> Security -> [] Block reported attack sites.

I turned this feature off in Firefox ages ago.
awesome. thanks for this.

I would have found it eventually, you saved me 5mins of digging.
Windsor is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 08:18 AM
  #30  
Registered User
 
MaK92-4RnR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Roseville, California ( NOR CAL )
Posts: 5,699
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
it's happening to everybody...
MaK92-4RnR is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 09:19 AM
  #31  
Registered User
 
richf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Moyock,NC
Posts: 477
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ya I was getting it also and just turned it off in fire fox
richf is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 09:33 AM
  #32  
Contributing Member
 
Lysmachia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Clear Lake City, TX
Posts: 5,400
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by hamish_18 View Post
I am a Symantec technical account manager. This does not mean that your computer is infected. This is a protection feature built in that protects users from browsing pages, that could potentially contain malicious redirects, or files.

What this most likely means, is that google has scanned the site for malicious vulnerabilities, or malicious, or suspicious files and has found some. Most likely a bot got on here and hosted a malicious link, or somebody posted a picture that had a malicious redirect attached to it. I suspect the moderatores are fully aware of this, and will be working with google to resolve the issue.

-Chris
Yes, we are aware, and Yes Robb at IB is working on it! Thanks!!
Lysmachia is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 09:45 AM
  #33  
Registered User
 
Magnusian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Downtown Heckronto, Ontario, Soviet Canuckistan
Posts: 1,499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Windsor View Post
awesome. thanks for this.

I would have found it eventually, you saved me 5mins of digging.
Just remember, you're no longer protected from legitimate attacks and shouldn't go clicking links willy-nilly.
Magnusian is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:26 AM
  #34  
Registered User
 
87hillbillyoter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N. Lake Tahoe/Chico CA
Posts: 1,934
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
nevermind, it just happened to me as well
87hillbillyoter is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:37 AM
  #35  
Registered User
 
scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,338
Thanked 117 Times in 55 Posts
Yep... Same here on my laptop at home using firefox.
No issues using safari on the iPhone.

scuba is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:48 AM
  #36  
Banned
iTrader: (-1)
 
waskillywabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 3 Posts
I love my iPhone.

:wabbit2:
waskillywabbit is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 11:48 AM
  #37  
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
space-junk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wilton, CA
Posts: 5,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Well, thanks for validating my concerns guys... Won't be on yotatech at work until this gets fixed... Can't afford for my work to block this site...
space-junk is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 11:58 AM
  #38  
Registered User
 
dark_fairytales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento, Crawlifonia
Posts: 1,585
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
im not going to worry about it. its just a warning from google. im sure it will be resolved over time.
dark_fairytales is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 12:16 PM
  #39  
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff
iTrader: (1)
 
Corey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 32,227
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Still at work for 50 more minutes, and using IE.
It is a Google/Firefox thing you know...

I can not use Firefox here eithere as Boeing will then flag it and block it for all emplyee's until someone makes a case that the site is safe.

For those who do not want to mess with your Firefox settings, just use another browser for two days

It does take about that long for the ban to be lifted, as I watched the same thing happen over at the Portal.
http://www.expeditionportal.com/foru...ad.php?t=49281
Corey is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 12:21 PM
  #40  
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
aa1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 1,279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
bing is the new google....

this is annoying, typing yt URL address in the address line works fine though
aa1911 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: warning when navigating to yotatech???


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: