Looking For A Mechanic/Fabricator/Shop Put your location in your thread title when making an inquiry

Twofold: 94 4runner with shifting/driving issues, and a call for Nashville Mechanics

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2011, 10:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Twofold: 94 4runner with shifting/driving issues, and a call for Nashville Mechanics

First, I'd like to preface this: I am a newbie to the site. I read the site rules and am trying to abide. I've searched the site with a variety of key words and could not find any threads that were specific enough to what's going on with my 4runner - hence this thread.

The other caveat is that I (unfortunately) am not much of a car guy. I've done basic maintenance/ replacements, but when the talk turns to clutch brackets, drive lines, and U-joints, I'm lost. Sad, I know. I wish I was more adept, but I'm not. A true NOOB if ever there was one.

That said, this NOOB needs some help. I have a 1994 4runner, v6 engine, manual transmission, with about 180,000+ miles on it. I bought it with 170,000ish miles (maybe a little more, probably 172K). I drove it from Colorado to Nashville, TN and it's been running like a dream up until about 6 months ago...

Around that time, I started noticing that upon coming to a very abrupt stop (hitting the brakes hard. Not slamming on them per se, but definitely mashing down on them), the car would start stuttering (i.e. - a rapid series of jolts throughout the entire car that would be keenly felt in the brake pedal) and before stopping, and I'd hear this odd "clicking" noise that almost sounded like spokes of a bicycle hitting something while slowing down. (Does that give you an idea?)