Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

02 Taco Build

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2012, 09:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Xcelr8s 02 Taco Build

Hello all, new guy from TTORA. Tired of the bashing/drama over there and heard good things about this forum. With that being said, here is my current build! This is my first build, so I would greatly appreciate any recommendations/feedback!

This is my 2002 Tacoma that I purchased stock over 6 years ago. It served me well during my time in the military and never left me stranded once. However, since it has over 200,000 miles now...it's being promoted to a 20% DD/80% trial rig. The end result I'm shooting for is a mildly capable SAS'd Taco. I'd like to maintain the ability to drive it on the road, legally, but it definitely won't be a daily driver in any regard. I'm into expedition/slow crawling type trips.

As of several months ago it looked like this...

I had added 3" Allpro rear leafs, AllPro UCA's, 2.0 SAWS, and an Allpro rear and 4xInnovations front bumper. This setup was great, however, I honestly wanted more capability off-road and love the challenge of fabrication!

But, before my fun could begin, I found this after taking my bed off...

AND

So, thankfully Toyota warrantied the frame, and now I have new rails to work with. Before Toyota warrantied the frame I was able to replace my 8.4 rear diff with an 8" diff I acquired a long time ago. I had the third rebuilt by ECGS with 5.29's, Currently running 5" AllPro leafs with 6" Shackles. The plan is to match the lift of the D44 up front with the rear. But we will see.

Toyota finished replacing the frame in under two weeks, also replaced all brake lines and the BPV under the warranty. I do not have a pic yet of the truck's new frame but I'll add it soon.

Last edited by xcelr8; 10-19-2012 at 09:23 AM.
Old 10-19-2012, 09:07 AM

SORRY FOR BLURRY PICS.