Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Vibration while stopped and in Drive

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2011, 05:47 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Vibration while stopped and in Drive

I'm new to YotaTech. It's awesome. I just returned from a stint as a Peace Corps Volunteer and bought a 1995 Tacoma automatic 2.4L 2WD.

After the truck has warmed up I'll come to a stop at a red light or stop sign and it vibrates like crazy. The hood, steering wheel, rear-view mirror, and my teeth. If I put it in neutral it stops but starts again if I put it in Drive. As I pull away it stops and acceleration is great. I just did a full tune-up (plugs, wires, cap, rotor, air filter). It still vibrates.

What could be the problem?

Thanks a ton. And thanks to those who manage this site. Y'all rock.
Old 03-13-2011, 05:51 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
torque converter going out maybe?
Old 03-13-2011, 06:00 PM

What causes a torque converter to go out?
-lack of fluid change?
-towing?
What can I do to find out if it is the torque converter?
Fixable?
Old 03-18-2011, 05:14 PM

Has anybody else had this issue with a Tacoma? I don't think it's the torque converter because acceleration is great and gear changes are normal. Thanks for the help.
Old 03-18-2011, 05:40 PM

motor mounts worn or boken? tranny mounts worn or broken?

im pretty sure you can rebuild a torque converter, but ive never seen any kits for toyota's...not saying they're not out there though.

if it was me i'd just go out and buy a new torque converter as rebuilding one takes alot of skill and patience, plus its time consuming.

but im not 100% sure, ill wait to see what the pro's have to say, but if the torque converter was going bad i think it would slip, jerk or shake real bad etc. throughout all the gears
Old 03-19-2011, 12:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts