Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Stereo speakers to moniter C.B......??

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2004, 11:16 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Stereo speakers to moniter C.B......??

I tried this question in the Audio,Stereo forum with no luck. Lots of hits, but no ideas. I'll give it a try here.....

I want to use my Front stereo speakers as auxiliary speakers for my in dash C.B. radio.(they are just the old stockers)
I'm no electrician, but I'm pretty sure I can run all the Positive leads through a 6 pin rocker switch and clump all the Negitive leads togeather.
My goal is to be able to turn on my C.B., hit the rocker switch, moniter the C.B. from the front speakers and still be able to have the stereo on in the back speakers.
Has anybody done this?
Anybody think this would work? Does this make sense?
I don't want to try to find a place for an external auxiliary speaker. I want to keep the install as clean as possible.
https://www.yotatech.com/attachment....achmentid=3850

Last edited by Lt. Dan; 09-08-2004 at 11:56 AM.
Old 09-07-2004, 11:35 AM

Yep, can be done. Make sure you have an external out on your CB or you will have to go in the CB and jump from internal speaker. Works better if you have an external output.
Get a DPDT switch from Radio Shack and tie the +'s and -'s to one set of contacts from CB and the +'s and -'s from the stereo to the other. Of course run the wires from the common on the switch to the speakers.This will switch the speakers from stereo to CB. Works great I already did the same thing.
Old 09-08-2004, 08:17 AM
Contributing Member

Cool

\m/ Cool!! \m/ Thanx Buki, I thought so. My C.B. does have a aux. out speaker jack .

Good Times!
Old 09-08-2004, 10:37 AM

Go ahead and get a mini plug and attach two wires to it. Obivously, the outside is - and the center is +. You should be able to get this at Radio shack also.
Old 09-08-2004, 10:42 AM
Ric