Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Intermittent Vibration - weird....

Old 02-04-2004, 06:59 AM
COZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Intermittent Vibration - weird....

Newbie here...

I've been through the many vibration threads and have a twist on what's already been posted.

My problem is a very intermittent but violent front-end shake. 90% of the time my 4runner drives great but all of a sudden I start getting a vibration in the front-end and steering wheel that keeps gaining until I'm about off the road.

Mostly happens at 40+. Recently I've replaced the tires with LTX M/S (265/70/16) and had my rotors replaced, front / back pads replaced and back drums ground. I have 92K on the truck.

No pulling or vibration otherwise. Truck stops straight and in good time - no pulling or fade.

Once the vibration starts it will continue until I stop. While stopping I get a strong vibration and pulsing from the brake pedal. Once I've stopped the problem goes away. Sometimes just for a couple of minutes and sometimes for the balance of my drive.

Is it ok to rule out tire balance since it drives fine a vast majority of time?

My mechanic has looked over the front end - no problems found.

The real kicker here is the long period of time (days, weeks) between problems and that I can't duplicate at will.

Ruled out;
- Snow/mud in rims
- dry .v. wet conditions
- tire pressure / balancing (i believe)

Any ideas - really getting to be a pain and I'm afraid there is an underlying problem or I may be causing one.

Thanks,
- COZ
Old 02-04-2004, 07:23 AM
Contributing Member

I was starting to get a slight 'bounce' from my front suspesion before I repalced the shocks..maybe one of your Bil's is bad?
Old 02-04-2004, 07:31 AM
COZ

Ok - I have 60k on the shocks but they seem to be fine. Plus wouldn't a shock problem occur all the time or at least all the time within a speed range?