Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

BRAKE Problem

Old 11-18-2011, 12:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BRAKE Problem

Hello every. I am new to yotatech and i have been reading constantly every day since i joined. I have a 97 4runner 2wd sr5 auto with 169xxx on it. I just recently purchased it. The other day i was driving, in a hurry. I was driving fast and of course when drivng fast you have to break hard. well about after 10 mins of navagating through back street short cuts (lots of speed bums and stop signs) i could smell my breaks and even see them smoking with i came to a complete stop. Now i understand that when drving hard you are using your breaks harshly, but i do not think i was abusing them that way, and not to mention that it was a cold rainy day. And even now that i am paying more attention to them i notice that even everyday driving will result in a break oder. everything appears to be okay, i am not sure where to go from here. Any advice would be a big help! Thanks!
Old 11-18-2011, 05:37 AM
Contributing Member

Received 463 Likes on 309 Posts
Smoke/smell was definitely coming from brakes? Smoke from all 4 brakes??? Front(s)? Rear(s)? If rears is there any sign stuff has been leaking out of the drum (look on insides of tires for splattered oily stuff)?

Last edited by habanero; 11-18-2011 at 05:39 AM.
Old 11-18-2011, 09:19 AM

Smoke and smell def coming from the FRONT breaks. the truck was not under load, my E break was not on. and like i said, there really was no reason for them to be getting smoking hot. even today when i got out of the truck i bent down and i could feel the extreme heat coming off the breaks and i could kinda see what looks to be metal chippings, but i dont know for sure.
Old 11-18-2011, 10:02 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
What kind of MPG are you getting?
Old 11-18-2011, 10:10 AM

currently getting about 15 mpg
Old 11-19-2011, 06:05 AM