Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

97 4runner

Old 07-03-2019, 09:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face 97 4runner power windows

Hello fellow 4r enthusiasts! I had purchased my beautiful 4runner from a third party because im a broke college student . Back to the car... My 4runner has a functioning back window (center console switch does not work, key only) but none of the windows go down or up (duh). I will do anything to make these windows work, except pay someone to do the labor. Im beginning my journey into the automotive field and would like to personally repair my bb. i should also note that the car door has been replace with another door from another 4runner. I will post pics and updates beginning tomorrow. thank you guys ...

Last edited by 4runningg; 07-03-2019 at 09:18 PM. Reason: title was vague
Old 07-04-2019, 06:31 AM
Contributing Member

Received 463 Likes on 309 Posts
If you'd said all but the driver's window I'd have said check the window lock button on the driver's door. It'll be interesting to see what you find.

Also, welcome to Yotatech.
Old 07-04-2019, 07:17 PM

Originally Posted by habanero
If you'd said all but the driver's window I'd have said check the window lock button on the driver's door. It'll be interesting to see what you find.

Also, welcome to Yotatech.
Hahah i appreciate the welcome yes the only problem is my driver side switch does not work at all! and its hot as hell over here in cali, especially when your window doesnt go down ....
Old 07-04-2019, 08:38 PM

Received 94 Likes on 79 Posts
It sounds like you have either a bad window switch, several bad window switches, or a bad door sensor.

The write-up for taking the doors off points out that once you disconnect the plugs going to the front doors you loose the function of the rear window. With that in mind, I would say check the front door switches and try to run a jumper wire to close them.