Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

2.7 Tacoma engine makes chugging noise and feels week under load HELP

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2012, 05:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2.7 Tacoma engine makes chugging noise and feels week under load HELP

This is my first time posting here, but I have been reading a bunch and really appreciate the knowledge of people on the board. If this is in the wrong area, more info is needed, etc. let me know and I will fix what ever is needed.
My truck is a 2002 Extended Cab Tacoma 4x4 with the 3RZ (2.7L) engine, and manual transmission. The truck has almost 82k miles on it. We bought it used a year+ ago with 67K miles, and has been working great with the exception of this recent issue.

Here are the symptoms I've noticed:

- When climbing hills at highway speed, or accelerating in 4th or 5th gear (3rd sometimes too) we can hear a rhythmic "chugging" noise (my wife described it as a "clicking sound") that we did not used to hear. If we let off the accelerator it goes away (and we slow down), but as soon as I press the accelerator again enough that it’ll hold or increase my speed the noise is back. Driving around town or on a flat freeway where the engine is not under such a heavy load everything sounds normal.

- When climbing hills the engine feels like it loses power. I know this is the 4-banger, but it feels weaker than it used to, and I'll have to down shift for hills I did not used to need to.

- Decreased gas mileage. We used to be able to get 24-25 freeway, now we're getting more like 19 - 20 on level freeways.