Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

02 Sport with ?transmission problem?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2009, 07:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
02 Sport with ?transmission problem?

I'm a newb. And I'm female. So bear with me.

My family currently owns five 4Runners. Four of them are 3rd generation models. I have used the same mechanic for over ten years, and he's never let me down. But he can't figure this problem out, probably because he couldn't replicate it.

My '02 Sport (automatic, V6) sometimes won't go when I accelerate. This usually happens when I'm stopped at a light or a stop sign, and when I try to go I get no response. I push the pedal all the way to the floor and it feels like I'm in neutral. Eventually it does start moving.

I've also noticed noises when I'm turning around or otherwise shifting from Drive to Reverse and back again. It's almost like the skid control is activating (even though I'm not skidding or losing traction), and a few times I've felt a clicking or mechanical noise under my feet on the driver's side when this happens.

I also have had the skid control come on if I'm stopped on an incline and take my foot off the brake and start to accelerate (as the car slightly rolls backward).

But all this stuff isn't constant. Sometimes the car feels normal for miles and miles of driving. My mechanic didn't have any engine codes, and when he drove it for a few days he didn't have these problems happen to him so my only recourse is to take it to a dealership, which could be uber expensive. I don't trust the car, which definitely isn't cool.

Does anyone have any ideas? The car has been in my family since 2003, when it was purchased with only 11K. Now it's almost at 110K, but all maintenance has been performed on schedule, and it certainly isn't abused.
Old 06-11-2009, 03:55 PM