Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

Straight Front or No Straight Front?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2008, 04:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Straight Front or No Straight Front?

Hey guys need help making a decision. Long story short i either need to change my lift kit on my IFS 4runner or do a straight front conversion. Right now i have a trail master kit on my 4runner which sucks ass. If i change the kit and leave it IFS i will be changing it to a Fabtech kit. I dont what would be better. Money is not a issue. Im more concerned with the ride of the truck and maintanence. I know that the maintenance on a lifted IFS truck needs to be done often. (CV joints, CV boots, Axles, rack and pinion, etc.) but i also have been told that the ride on a straight front sucks. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Old 08-08-2008, 04:19 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
As we tell everyone here with the question you have, how much wheeling are you going to do, what type of wheeling and is this going to be a daily driver? The IFS will give you a better ride period. If you plan to "flex" your trucks suspension, then a SAS is what you need.

James
Old 08-08-2008, 04:56 PM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
If money is not an issue, swap it.

The ride of your truck will be determined directly by how much research you do and how good of a job you do.

Can an improperly set up straight axle truck ride like garbage and be potentially dangerous? Absolutely.

Can a properly set up swapped truck ride like a dream, be functional and extremely strong? Absolutely.

ORS makes the kit you need: It says it is for tacoma, but talk to them on the phone, and they can help you make it work for the 4runner, since you have the same drivetrain.

http://www.offroadsolutions.com/prod...ilover_systems