Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

96' SAS Project Stranded! Need help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2011, 03:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
96' SAS Project Stranded! Need help!

Hey yotatech,
Im a noob to the site and to the offroading community. I'm currently in the middle of a SAS on a 96' Tacoma ex cab, 2.7l and im KINDA screwed! So for unnamed reasons i tourched my ifs and lift on the front end so i needed to fix my truck anyway. My neighbor is a welder and fabricator by trade and he convinced me to do the swap in the first place. I didn't have a licence, had alittle extra cash from my last deployment, and had alot of time since im and unemployed student. LOL So i bought the TG SAS kit "B" in 4" and their matching rear 4'' just to make things even. My neighbor told me to get that kit (its hardcore and very comprehensive) and he'd get the axle. We got a waggy dana 44 and the TG kit seems to be all toyota parts. He broke up w/ his girlfriend and moved back to his house 3 days ago and now im stranded and ive never done anything like this before but im pretty mechanically inclined, i am just uneducated.
So heres where im at right now. Ive got the rear axle back under it, front shackles in place and rears tacked. Pearches on so its sitting on its rear right now, havent finalized anything so that i can make adjustment when i set the pinion angle. The front has the pearches on and leafs on but as u remember the afore mentioned axle issue. It would seem as if its just u and me completing this build yotatech. I can only see 2 options here concerning the axle but if someones got something else PLEASE let me know!
1. sell the axle/steering parts i have and buy ones, have my axle housing cut, which will also require new gears (4.10s), axle shafts so on and so fourth and would cost $$$....