General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Weird blinker issue '84 Pickup

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2013, 01:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weird blinker issue '84 Pickup

Newbie here needs some help! When I turn my headlights or marker lights on, my left turn signal comes on and stays on inside the truck and both the front and rear left hand blinker lights are illuminated (not blinking). When I have either the markers or headlights on, I cannot use the left blinker. When all lights are off and I try to use the left blinker, it makes all my dash lights including the clock flicker with it and the whole left taillight flickers as well. The right turn signal works fine no matter what.

I've had this problem since I got the truck. Been trying to investigate the problem but can't seem to find anything messed up. I was thinking it could be the switch so instead of forking over $130ish I got a switch from the junkyard. I wired it up and it did the same stupid thing! Any insight would be greatly appreciated!
Old 01-04-2013, 02:04 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sounds like a ground. On the passenger side of cab under carpet the wiring harness goes through the cab on the frame. Check there and make sure the wires aren't skimmed back or broke. This is located directly under the seat on passenger side.
Old 01-07-2013, 02:05 PM

Thanks for the reply! I checked it but I don't see any messed up wires as far as I can tell. I unplugged it and then turned the lights on and the lights were normal! So that means that somewhere in the taillight harness from the plug back is the problem correct?
Old 02-27-2013, 02:22 PM