General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

timing cover issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2018, 02:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
timing cover issues

hi im new to the 22r world and i need help with something. my daughter bought a 1990 Toyota pickup with a blown head. i had the head reworked with new valves and i bought a new oil pump, water pump, timing set, and timing cover as the original was trashed when the chain guides went. the issue im having is that the new timing cover (dorman) is 1/16 inch shorter than the original, i sent the first one back but the second one was the same. with the engine together the head gasket actually moves up and down between the head and the timing cover. its not much but definitely a problem. i tried silicone on the top of the timing cover but that did me no favors, when running there is a major oil leak from where the cover and head meets. Toyota wants 389$ for a Toyota cover which is twice what i paid for the truck, anyone else ran into a similer issue?
Old 05-01-2018, 06:06 PM

Received 570 Likes on 449 Posts
I have not ran into this issue before, but I am not surprised with a Dorman part. For some reason, Dorman makes pretty low quality parts, but make just about any part you need. It is actually pretty depressing how often their parts don't fit.

I do not think there is any other way to properly fix this problem other than buying a different timing chain cover.

22RE Performance sells new timing covers from their trusted source and inspects each timing cover before it leaves their shop: https://22reperformance.com/22re-eng...s/timing-cover

Good Luck

Old 05-01-2018, 07:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks that cover looks 100 times better than the Dorman one. Dorman is very rough cast. I'm going to see if the parts house will refund the part and I'm going to order that cover.
Old 05-01-2018, 11:52 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts