Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Wet black soot from exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2019, 05:59 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wet black soot from exhaust

I have a 1986 pickup with the 22r, the car runs really well and has what I think is decent power, but I noticed there is black water sort of spraying out of the exhaust when I revved it while idling on multiple occasions . The car was warm the first time I noticed if I remember correctly. It’s enough to actually stain the concrete when dry. I’m new to the Toyota world and bought the car about a week ago. Any ideas as to what I may be in for?
Thank you
Old 04-19-2019, 07:57 AM

Received 663 Likes on 455 Posts
Are you losing coolant?
With engine cold and radiator cap removed, start engine, let it run to operating temperature. Any splashing more more that that caused by vibration? When thermostat opens, you should see a little more movement in the coolant but not violent splashing.
Old 04-19-2019, 10:41 AM

I have done that, I can see the Coolant moving nice and smooth. Zero splashing. When I get home today from my commute I’m going to check and see if it’s doing it while warm to make sure. I’ll check my coolant level and see if it’s gone down since I looked a few days ago . It was up to the top last I checked
The following users liked this post:
RAD4Runner (04-19-2019)
Old 04-19-2019, 10:53 AM

Received 663 Likes on 455 Posts
Originally Posted by MINI_YOTATO
... I’ll check my coolant level and see if it’s gone down since I looked a few days ago . It was up to the top last I checked
I like to write date last topped-off cold on my coolant reservoir/overflow tank.
Old 04-19-2019, 10:59 AM

Just checked, no coolant loss since i checked 150+ miles ago.
Old 04-19-2019, 12:11 PM

You don’t note where you live, if it’s on the cold side, and you park outside, you may have condensation in your exhaust system.

Bud

Last edited by Budman1; 04-19-2019 at 12:12 PM. Reason: sp