Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

locking hubs not working

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2012, 06:21 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
locking hubs not working

i just got a 87 yoda 4x4 and the front wheels arent locking in in 4wd. i know its not the tranny/differential , you can hear and feel the gears go into place with no problem.

the guy i bought it from said it was driven with one hub locked and now the 4wd doesnt work. i dont know if he meant driven in 2 or 4wd. he said all i should need to do is replace the 2 front locking hubs. does this sound right?

or is it possible that it damaged some of the gears or something inside of the axle? or something else. im pretty new to these trucks so any info will help. i dont want to replace the hubs and then realize after that something else inside was shot too. thank you!
Old 03-12-2012, 05:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hubs shouldn't be shot from driving with one locked and one unlocked - it happens. Being an 87, I assume it has manual locking hubs. Are they the original Aisin hubs? If so, taking them apart to service them is your best bet. They are one of the best hubs made so I would consider going that route instead of replacing them. Check out a FSM for details on how to do them. Pay particular attention to the springs inside when disassembling, they are often the culprit - that and a po that never serviced them.

Last edited by rworegon; 08-19-2014 at 03:55 PM.
Old 03-12-2012, 06:08 PM

yes they are aisin manual locking hubs, thanks for the info.
Id rather not rebuild them, i was just planning on ordering some warns, as i hear theyre great too. how much would the aisins be worth if i sold em?

also the main thing im worried about is if there could be other damage besides the hubs? or does it sound like fixing those would do it for me?
Old 03-12-2012, 06:12 PM

Just curious - why go with warns instead of the aisins?