Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

I messed up - removed head without being at TDC on compression stroke

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2019, 09:09 PM

Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts
I messed up - removed head without being at TDC on compression stroke

I’m a newbie and am doing a top and bottom end rebuild on my 22re. Accidentally removed the head without being at TDC on compression stroke. The #1 piston is at the highest point, but the #1 rocker arms are tight to the Cam lobes with zero play.

My next step is separating the block from the trans and pulling it and putting on a stand. (Had only planned to rebuild the top end until I saw the clean piston edges meaning worn rings from what I’ve gathered(is this correct?)

My question is how should I go about getting the engine set to TDC on the compression stroke when I go to reinstall the head and do the timing chain replacement??

Feel free to inclue any other useful info for a first time engine rebuilding newbie. I’ve gathered a lot of information and feel confident about some things, just knew I was gonna have a hiccup or two along the way. This is the first hiccup. Thanks for your help!
Old 02-25-2019, 05:34 AM

Received 603 Likes on 441 Posts
Position of engine is totally irrelevant on disassembly.

Following correct assembly sequence found in the factory service manual will insure that the engine goes back together correctly.
Old 02-25-2019, 06:01 AM

Good deal, thank you. Surely I will wrap my head around that before reassembly time.
Old 03-06-2019, 02:45 PM

Received 75 Likes on 54 Posts
MasterOfNone
Why don't you start a build thread for your truck, this way you can ask all kinds of questions without starting a new thread for each question. Don't worry, we're watching and can help you
Old 03-06-2019, 08:05 PM

Originally Posted by NYHumpinUtah
MasterOfNone