Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Crankshaft Keyway Worn - Suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2011, 04:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crankshaft Keyway Worn - Suggestions?

See below

Last edited by johnnyb588; 09-07-2011 at 09:10 PM.
Old 09-07-2011, 05:04 PM

Crankshaft keyway destroyed

UPDATE: The fix I went with was to pull an engine from a junker and pull all the parts from it that needed to be replaced on my ride. 15k miles later, it's still going strong. Thanks for the help.

First off, forgive me for being a noob. I'm not anywhere near mechanically savvy, and I am new to Tacomas as well, but I really want to start getting into doing some mods on my rig on my own. Problem is, last night, my crankshaft decided to give out on me.

I don't know how it happened because everything was fine when my wife was pulling into the garage. She was going about 1mph, then the engine started making a bunch of racket. I brought it to my mechanic, and he informed me that the crankshaft was busted. To a mechnoob like me, it looked the crankshaft was bent away from the engine block at the bottom. It just kind of popped off for the most part (the belts were still in tact). He took it apart today and let me know that the keyway is beyond repair. He's recommending a rebuilt engine (which I have found for $1200), and doesn't think my 130k engine is worth salvaging.

First: Do you think a rebuilt engine is the way to go? Also, since mine is a '99, how can I tell if I have the dipstick hole or w/o dipstick hole 5vz-fe? And does that even matter? Could I just use either engine without a problem no matter which engine my truck originally came with?

Second: Have you ever heard of something like this happening? I searched quite a bit before coming here, and I couldn't find anyone who was in my boat. How could something like this occur, and how could I avoid it in the future, if possible?