Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

92 22re timing chain

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2018, 06:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
92 22re timing chain

I'm very new to this, I just created this account because I couldn't find anything really answering my question.( a bit of background info if you want skip to the next paragraph to see the question its there) I'm a bit of a noob to the 22re and yotatech. I have a 92 4x4 and I just bought it back in March, and is now my DD. It's ran very well and sounded great thus far (other than the fart can noise it makes because the muffler blew out on one of the seems). The previous owner said he replaced the engine about 40k ago. It smoked a little when it was cold started but that went away once it warmed up, and needed new tires.

My issue is those darn timing chain guides. Some time last month I began to hear a rattling coming from the front of the engine and I'm certain that it's the drivers guide that broke off. (You can REALLY hear it when not hard accelerating or when the truck is under load)

I've done some reading on the forum and I know that the chain can grind through the timing cover to the coolant passage and mess your whole day up.

What I'm wondering is how long can I strech my time with it. I'm not looking for exact numbers but a ballpark range of about how many mile I can get out of it before it breaks. I can't get in there and fix it until the SUMMER due to work and school. I drive roughly 1000 miles each month.

Do do you think it'll last that long or should I start digging the grave?
Old 01-25-2018, 09:54 PM

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
You're hoping to put on another 5 or 6k miles before you can open it and you already hear chain rattle?

I hate to tell you this, but there's almost no chance. With a cracked guide, you can baby it through another few hundred miles, but even that's not recommended.