Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Used car things to check/do etc.?

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2006, 09:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Used car things to check/do etc.?

Hi everyone. I am very new to the world of Toyota. I just bought my first one about 1 month ago. It is a V6 5spd manual 1991 4wd Toyota pickup DLX regular cab with longbed and ~150,000 miles. So far I love the truck except for one small problem which I will post in another thread. I was wondering what people recommend in terms of things to do/check on the truck?
Thanks,
Marge

Here is a list of what I have done so far:
1) Changed oil and filter
2) Flush and changed coolant
3) Changed spark plugs, wires, distributor cap, and rotor (though I didn't use OEM parts for this, which I have read are better)
4) Changed fuel filter
5) Changed air filter
6) Changed fluid in front diff, rear diff, transmission, transfer case.
7) Changed brakes in front, checked brakes in rear.
8) Changed shocks
9) Changed power steering fluid
10) Greased driveline
11) Cleaned throttle body
12) Cleaned cold start injector
Old 04-13-2006, 11:13 AM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Looks like you've got everything covered. Time to start the mods
Old 04-13-2006, 11:20 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
check the coolant hoses. both upper and lower, but also the heater hoses at the rear (they have a tendancy to rot out from age/heat)

check belts (glazeing, cracking etc)

look for scarry wireing mess left by pervious owners. expecially if they had just ripped out a sound system or something. electrical gremlins are NO fun to hunt down.
Old 04-13-2006, 11:47 AM